Need help building my computer

jacobchldrs

Honorable
Aug 2, 2012
I am planning to build a computer some time in the next 6 months and was starting to look for parts. The system needs to be powerful enough to play games like battlefield 3 on high settings. I found some parts that look good, but since this is my first time I'm am looking for as much advise as possible. Also, there are still many parts I haven't found yet.

*Note: I am trying to keep the total cost under $650, so keep that in mind when commenting*

GPU: Intel Core i3 2120

GPU: Nvidia GTX 460

MOBO: Asus P8Z68-V (If you suggest a different mother board, I will want bluetooth, USB 3.0, SLI capable -for future upgrades - and slot lga 1155. In short the motherboard needs to be able to last for many years and many upgrades.)

HDD: ?? (can be small. i am planning on having an external and eventually upgrading this to SSD. but for now I need an actual HDD.)

CD/DVD burner/writer: ?? (don't really care about this as long as it has DL burning capabilities.)

RAM: ?? (would like at least 6 gb of DDR3 1600 MHz. But not too picky. You guys know best ;)

Monitor: ?? (nothing fancy, this can be upgraded later on, but yes, i will be including this in the budget of $650.)

case: ??

PSU: ?? (I don't totally understand this part. As much info on this as possible would be much appreciated.)

When posting suggestion for different parts, please give the price and a link on where to buy.

Once again, this is my first time doing this so any info is appreciated.

Thanks.

s-atkins

Honorable
Jul 14, 2012
For the power supply i would defiantly recommend something like this:

http://www.corsair.com/builder-series-cx600.html

it is a 600W PSU so it will easily be able to support your graphics card (450W)