Sign in with
Your question

Question about a power supply

Last response: in Components
August 2, 2012 11:18:12 PM

someone said NZXT is "sketchy". is it? anyone have a good alternative?

this is my first time building a computer so i have almost no idea what i'm doing.

here's my build btw:

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($214.99 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.99 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($142.86 @ Newegg)
Memory: Patriot Signature 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($50.77 @ Amazon)
Storage: Hitachi Deskstar 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 670 2GB Video Card ($399.99 @ Newegg)
Case: NZXT Source 210 (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case ($34.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: NZXT 650W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($84.98 @ Amazon)
Optical Drive: Sony AD-7280S-0B DVD/CD Writer ($16.99 @ Newegg)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (64-bit) ($88.73 @ Amazon)
Total: $1134.28

More about : question power supply

August 2, 2012 11:31:20 PM

thanks a bunch, looks good
Related resources
a c 87 ) Power supply
August 3, 2012 1:08:30 PM

Out of their three series only the Hale82N series (which is totally different to the one you have chosen) is sketchy...
The Hale82 series is fine apart from the fact that their fans are noisy.

If you don't need a modular PSU then this is better and a good price after promo code:
Rosewill Capstone-650 $100 (20% off promo code)
http://pcpartpicker.com/part/rosewill-power-supply-caps...
a b ) Power supply
August 3, 2012 1:31:09 PM