GPU Compatibility

Status
Not open for further replies.

bloojays23

Distinguished
Dec 10, 2011
I was wondering if these GPUs are compatible with my system.
First I have:
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 v2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ (2 CPU) ~3.1GHz
MB: MSI - MS-7309
Ram: 3070MB
Directx 10
GPU: Nvidia Geforce GT 220

I'm in really dire need of a new GPU since some games like LoL,Darkness 2 and etc. lag alot. My FPS in LoL drops from 30-50 to around 12 when there's huge team battles which is a a no-no for my type of gaming.

I'm no computer expert so I have no idea what fits or if the GPU is even the main issue for this "lag" or fps drop.

I've been looking into some several cheap GPUs I found on CL that are around the neighborhood. I'm looking on CL because I'm pretty in a rush to find a fast and better GPU than my current one(GF GT 22) and I am not looking for a entirely new setup for serious gaming, just a simple upgrade to keep up my mojo.

Here are the GPU I have been looking at:
NIVIDA 8800 GTS 512
Nvidia GeForce 6800 Ultra 256MB 4X 8X Dual DVI AGP
EVGA GTS 250 Video Card NVIDIA Graphics
radeon hd 6450
ASUS EN8800GT TOP/G/HTDP/512M
ASUS EAH4870 DK TOP/HTDI/512MD5 Radeon HD 4870 512MB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16
GTX 260 PCI-E Superclocked 896 MB DDR3 2DVI
GeForce 8800 GTS Alpha Dog Edition

Solution

For a system using a single Radeon HD 6770 graphics card AMD specifies a minimum of a 550 Watt or greater power supply. The power supply should also have a combined +12 Volt continuous current rating of 24 Amps or greater and have at least one 6-pin PCI Express supplementary power connector.

The Ultra LS500, with its +12 Volt continuous current rating of 28 Amps and one 6-pin PCI Express supplementary power connector, should be...

bloojays23

Distinguished
Dec 10, 2011