Wolfdale E5200 dying? Loss of overclock speed

massivepepper

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2009
Hello all,

Was wondering if the community can help me get back to a decent CPU speed again.

Just yesterday I noticed that my processor was running at 100% and there was no spiking at all. I've been experiencing some random resets and freezes as well in the past week or so. I unplugged power, and began to clean out dust from case and reassembled.

Now when I turn on computer it won't load with the old OC settings I had which pushed the Wolfdale E5200 from stock 2.5 to 3.75 Ghz.

I have been running this chip at this speed for nearly 3 years now and wonder if that is the general life cycle of it.

Note that the computer does load and run on the stock speed, but I can't overclock it at all.

Solution
If your CPU won't overclock then your motherboard is preventing it. It's likely that the CPU is failing at your overclocked level so regardless of what you do, the motherboard detects it's not working thus it crashes and resets your BIOS settings.

There's nothing you can do. You can try to overclock starting at a lower level but you'll crash again at some point.

Overvolt? You can experiment with that, but it's also possible that you'll kill your CPU completely too. It's hard to say.

Also, don't overclock your RAM. That's one of the biggest mistakes:
1. overclock the CPU (by increasing the Base Clock)
2. RAM runs too fast
3. Drop the RAM MULTIPLIER so that the RAM doesn't exceed it's max frequency rating

Some motherboard BIOS might...

digdog

Honorable
Mar 8, 2012
nah, had this problem with my E6600. all your cpu needs is a wee bit more voltage. just go in the BIOS and give it the smallest voltage bump you can - it should start running again at your original overclock. :bounce: