Sign in with
Your question

Gt 430 or 2 5450s

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 15, 2012 7:19:46 PM

Hello, I am new to building computers so I would really appreciate some help with choosing the right graphics cards for me.

I currently own a gt 430 and it seems to run games fine on lower-medium settings however I am really looking for an upgrade.

I have been looking into "crossfireX" because I want to use 2 graphics card, I also want to run 2 monitors.

On my search for a new graphics card I came across the following:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B004J0YBYI/sr=1-6/qi...

I am wondering if it would be best to use 2 of those or my current gt 430.

Sorry for woffling on, I would really appreciate some help from the pros :) 

Here are some of the other components I bought for my new computer:
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 990FX Socket AM3+ 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard
CPU: AMD Bulldozer FX-8 8150 8 Core 3.6Ghz
Memory: 16Gb Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz

I also currently only have a 500w PSU, would that be enough?

Thank you to everyone who replies.

More about : 430 5450s

a b U Graphics card
February 15, 2012 8:23:18 PM

I dont understand why you are going so cheap on video card you spend 250 on CPU and prob 150 on mobo... lowest videocard for that setup I would even consider would be a 550Ti or a 6850...maybe 6790 for around $100

Thent
February 15, 2012 8:39:56 PM

thently said:
I dont understand why you are going so cheap on video card you spend 250 on CPU and prob 150 on mobo... lowest videocard for that setup I would even consider would be a 550Ti or a 6850...maybe 6790 for around $100

Thent

To be completely honest, It's because I don't know very much about video cards. Forgive my stupidity but I thought because the 5450 was 2gb it means it was better but I was clearly wrong.

I took up your advice and found 550ti for ~£100, would it be worth my while to buy 2 of those?

And what sort of PSU would I need for this setup?