Sign in with
Your question

PC Running Like Dirt after Power Surge...NEW PSU INSTALLED ALREADY

Last response: in CPUs
August 6, 2012 11:03:26 AM

Ok so we had a pretty good monsoon lightning storm while I was out of town. I asked my room mate to unplug my computer if any storms started while I was gone, because I didnt have a surge protector at the time. Needless to say a massive lightning storm rolled through while I was away, and he DID NOT unplug my PC as requested. Instead he sat on star wars watching the lightning outside my window....

Anyways, I downloaded a few hardware monitors to check voltages and what not (I know theyre hardly ever accurate but I was trying to get any ideas as to what I was dealing with here)

Voltages were as follows

3.3v rail was reading 3.02
5v rail was reading 4.38
12v rails was reading 7.25
CPU Core was reading 1.08

I thought those were all a bit low, especially the 12v rail, so I butsted out my electrical tester ( I am an electrician so it was handy ) and they read as follows

3.3v rail was reading 3.091
5v rail was reading 4.46
12v rail was reading 7.58

Now what I dont understand is if the 12v rail was in fact so low, how did my computer boot to begin with?? It started up normal, power cycled fine, shutdown and restarted just fine, except it was running like dirt...Installs took 2-5 minutes to even open the setup, avg scan took hours (normaly takes about 35 minutes), Internet speeds are down to about 1.1 mbps from about 19.5, latency and ping is up to almost 1000ms, any media takes 35+ seconds to open and it almost seems like it rebuffers itself during the song/movie (obviously causing audio/video lag).

So I ordered me a new 700watt ATX 24pin mb 8pin cpu power plant...I recieved it on friday evening and installed it on saturday morning. Everything went smoothly old one came out and the new one slid right back in its place. Powered it up ( not connected to the motherboard or hard drives yet ) and tested all the lines