Sign in with
Your question

HIS Radeon 6970 problems

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 16, 2012 2:33:27 AM

High guys, this is my first build. I apologize upfront for anything I say that should be common knowledge lol but i'm trying to learn. Okay, so I put all of my components together, and I cannot see my graphics card (HIS Radeon HD 6970) in device manager. I have to connect my HDMI connector to the onboard HDMI to get video. I tried installing the drivers for the 6970, however, I get an error stating that "errors were present" when installing catalyst. When i open the view error messages there is nothing that shows up? The path that is support to be created is something like "C:\Program Files\Ati\ ". When installation is complete this directory does not exist. When I installed the drivers form the disk for my motherboard, the motherboards Intel HD graphics drivers were installed. Would this cause conflict? Has anyone heard of this problem before? Also, I have not updated the bios.

More about : radeon 6970 problems

a b U Graphics card
February 16, 2012 2:57:26 AM

Your system is not recognizing the card. Make sure it is properly seated and the power cables are plugged in. Can you display an image using the other ports of the card?
February 16, 2012 3:05:04 AM

I chose a single 6970 when I built my rig and had the same exact problem as you.

For some reason, HDMI and 6970s don't like each other very much. When I tried DVI - problem solved.
Related resources
February 16, 2012 3:23:06 AM

PCgamer81 said:
I chose a single 6970 when I built my rig and had the same exact problem as you.

For some reason, HDMI and 6970s don't like each other very much. When I tried DVI - problem solved.