Sign in with
Your question

Do you need a sound card if you use headphones?

Last response: in Components
August 7, 2012 5:32:30 AM

So I'm new to computter building and the components and I was wondering if I need a sound card if I use headphones. Do most motherboards have sound with them? Please help me out I don't want to spend a lot of more money. Thanks.

More about : sound card headphones

August 7, 2012 6:38:57 AM

all motherboards now come with decent enough onboard sound.

it depends on how much your into your audio. almost all games and general PC users won't need or see benifit to a sound card.

m
l
August 7, 2012 12:07:53 PM

^^ Disagree 100%. Especially when it comes to headphones.

Any decent audio equipment will see a quality enhancement when using a soundcard. The question for most is: Is it worth it?

Pesonally, going without a soundcard is like playing a game at 720p with no AA. You CAN, but its ugly.
m
l
Related resources
August 7, 2012 12:28:58 PM

I'd agree with hugo.
Assuming you'll be listening to MP3s, WMAs, or AACs, you'll lose more quality through the compression than through the sound stage on the motherboard.

I'd also agree with gamerk.
If you have decent headphones and listen to lossless music, then a decent soundcard will be quite the investment
m
l
August 7, 2012 12:57:06 PM

and theres also usb headphones nowadays

m
l
August 7, 2012 1:19:56 PM

mcnumpty23 said:
and theres also usb headphones nowadays

Good shout!
m
l
August 7, 2012 1:29:38 PM

mi1ez said:
Good shout!

just about to order a pair of usb phones later today--never tried usb phones before but my wireless sennheisers are

getting on a bit

so glad you didnt say they were rubbish

theres just so many choices of headphones to pick from is the problem

i ended up narrowing it down by what i will use them for--ie pc only and gaming in particular and how much i was willing

to spend--ended up with deciding to get corsair vengeance 1500 phones

m
l
August 7, 2012 1:44:50 PM