Sign in with
Your question

Can my PC be upgraded to run these modern games?

Last response: in Systems
April 24, 2012 8:48:24 PM

Hi, I'm new to the site. Sorry if this is posted in the wrong area!

I am fairly new to building PCs. My experience is limited to replacing GPUs, PSUs and RAM sticks, pretty much. That being said, I've spent a great deal of time researching how to build PCs over the last year and still have no clue what I'm doing. That's why I'm here. It's just not my thing, I guess.

Current PC problems: My PC's power is waning. Loading times of games, opening files and even system boot are so slow I want to cry. WIndows Vista is pure trash. I have problems on a daily basis, which all end up essentially being because I have VIsta. Sad.

I want to know: Can I upgrade my current Desktop (details below) to play modern games? Can I use any of the parts inside to upgrade? Is it futile and I just need an entire new system?

Parts I want to keep from inside my PC, if possible: My dual GPUs. They seem to still work fine even for newer games. All of my CD drives are fairly good as well.

Applications I need to run: Whatever the newest Photoshop is. Diablo III. Guild Wars 2. TERA Online. Borderlands 2. The Witcher 2. Aliens: Colonial Marines.

The most requiring application there is definitely Aliens: Colonial Marines, but there are no system requirements available for it yet. It's made by the same company as Borderlands 2 and uses the same engine.

This is what's recommended for Borderlands 2:
"Core 2 Quad Q6400 2.13GHz
Athlon II X3 440
GeForce GT 545 DDR3
Radeon HD 4830 512MB
4 GB RAM
Win 7 x64
DirectX 9
HDD Space 8 GB"

When I need it: My current rig runs Diablo 3 and TERA for the most part, so it doesn't need to be right this minute, but it would be nice to get it sooner and enjoy these games even more! I want a new Harddrive with a better, high-def Operating System as soon as possible. At the very latest, I need a modern system by November.