Need Advice on a ~$800 system for Introductory Video Editing

nexbot

Honorable
Apr 25, 2012
Guys, I've wanted to get into making music videos for my band for a while, so this will be used for both editing video (HD if possible, budget wise) and also music production.

I have experience with audio, but am brand new to the video realm of things and therefore would like a system that would be great to learn video editing on (likely using Avid Media Composer) without breaking the bank as I don't think it makes sense to drop *too* much cash to learn something I have no experience with.

Approximate Purchase Date: 2 Weeks

Budget Range: 600-800 Before Rebates (Not including Monitor)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Video Editing, Audio Production, , Photoshop, Watching Movies (no gaming)

Parts Not Required: case, hard drives, optical drive, keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS, editing program

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com (or any reputable)

Parts Preferences: Intel

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: Open to suggestions

Additional Comments: I would like a quiet PC, other than that I want the best bang for the buck as far as power for video editing is concerned.

I already have:

1x Thermaltake Element G ATX Mid Tower Computer Case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811133086

1x CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W EPS12V SLI Ready 80 PLUS
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139005

2x Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136284

2x Seagate 3TB USB3.0 External Drives (couldn't find link for these exact ones)

and some generic DVD drive.

Will I need a RAID controller, video interface, or more drives? I have zero experience working with a RAID setup.

Gentlemen, what say you?

AH-64 Longbow

Honorable
Apr 22, 2012