Advice on whether to get a workstation or powerful desktop (budget=5k)

demographer

Honorable
Apr 26, 2012
I am a professional research (academic) who does high-end statistical and geographic analysis. I'm starting a new job and have a research fund that I can use to buy a computer from either HP or Dell. Basically, I'm looking for a machine that will be good for processing very large data files (think 50gb; millions of records) and doing sophisticated mapping analysis. I'd like to keep the total cost (including monitors) under 5k, but my main question is whether it is really worth the extra money to buy a workstation (e.g., Dell Precision) vs. a high-end business desktop (Dell Optiplex 990). I can spec the latter out - with dual 24" ultrasharps - for about 3.5k; a comparable Precision is above 5k. Here's the requested information.

Approximate Purchase Date: next week

Budget Range: (e.g.: 600-800) 4000-5000 (including monitors)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: statistical analysis, geographic analysis, writing, email, internet

Parts Not Required: (e.g.: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS) don't need a mouse or keyboard (already have nice Logitechs)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: has to be from Dell or HP

Parts Preferences: I need at least 16gb of ram and something powerful enough to efficiently process very large data files

Overclocking: Don't know

SLI or Crossfire: Don't know

Monitor Resolution: I have 2 24" Dell Ultrasharps now (that I cannot bring to my new job); I'd like to have something like that

Additional Comments: No bling; office computer

g-unit1111

Titan
Do you necessarily have to have Dell or HP? You could build your own around a Xeon E5-2650 (8 cores, 32 threads) and it'd be far more powerful than anything you could get from either manufacturer, and you don't have to deal with their proprietary cases and form factors so your PC will last far longer than a Dell or HP would.

g-unit1111

Titan