Sign in with
Your question

Building a new sytem $1500 budget

Last response: in Systems
April 26, 2012 6:42:18 PM

Hey guys I am new to building computers and I am wanting to put my own system together. I will not be building a system for awhile but I am wanting to learn more and see what your opinions are about the builds.

Approximate Purchase Date: In 3 months or so...

Budget Range: $1,200-$1500 if I can get away with a cheaper build it would be great.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Video editing, Programming, Gaming, Media, Internet browsing etc....

Parts Not Required: I have a good headset so I wont need good speakers or a expensive sound card.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Tigerdirect, Ebay, Amazon.

Country: (e.g.: India) we need to know where these parts are being assembled

Parts Preferences: Intel i7 or i5 processor. I would like a case that has good cable management like the corsair cases.

Overclocking: Maybe/ Would I want OC my system for what I am doing?

SLI or Crossfire: Probably not

Monitor Resolution: 1920 x 1080

Additional Comments: I want a system that will last me for at least 3 years. I would like to have a system that will be compatible with future processors so I can just upgrade the processor and memory...and other little things.

What I would like to have built...but just want to see what you guys think.

Processor: i7 3820 or any best i7 for my needs
Motherboard: AsRock x79 Extreme 6 (I dont know much about motherboards)
Case: Corsair 650d (I dont really know at this point)
Memory: Corsair 16gb 1600 DDR3
Hard Drive: 2tb Brand?
SSD: 120gb Brand?
Operating System: Windows 7 or wait to see how Windows 8 goes
Power Supply: ?
Cooling: ?
Video Card: Radeon 6870 or mid level gaming card
Optical Drive: Bluray and normal dvd drive
Monitor: 24"-27" or smaller eyefinity setup
Keyboard: Gaming or regular...
Mouse: Gaming or regular...