DVR-PC 1st Time Build of small PC to be used as DVR

edhere

Honorable
Apr 26, 2012
I want a PC to use mainly as a DVR and I've looked for pre-built models and can't find one. I've never built a PC before so it gives me a headache just thinking about it.

I want to use the PC in my entertainment center connected to my router with an Ethernet cord but with the option to switch to wireless. It would be connected via HDMI to the TV (1080p).

For now I just want to record 2 channels at a time from HD cable. I don't have a set-top box. I'd like the option to add an antennae down the road so I'm thinking of a 2 tuner TV card with a clearQAM coax input and an OTA HD antennae input too, but I want to be able to record from two clearQAM channels at the same time.

Obviously I'd need inputs for keyboard and mouse but I'd probably leave them disconnected most of the time.

---------
Approximate Purchase Date: the sooner the better

Budget Range: $400-$600 - Not a big fan of rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: DVR

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Least expensive - Amazon, Newegg

Parts Preferences: low footprint: looks like set-top box, console, mini, etc.

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: ?

Monitor Resolution: 1080p

Additional Comments: I would like a quiet, energy efficient PC if possible -- I'd like it to sleep when not in use and wake when it's time to record.

-----------

I think the AMD build at the end of this thread seems like a good list for me.

The only thing I'd need to add to that build is an OS. I was thinking Windows 7 / Windows Media Center so I could use my Xbox 360s as extenders. I was also thinking of dropping the SSD to keep the price down.

Would this build work for me? Is there a better build now?

Any advice from anyone would be appreciated. Thanks.

edhere

Honorable
Apr 26, 2012
Thanks for the feedback, Wolfshadw. I took your advice and went with the A75M motherboard.