Sign in with
Your question

Small case, 80mm fan and oldish (hot) parts. Bad idea?

Last response: in Systems
April 27, 2012 2:30:07 PM

I bought a budget case off the internet for £15 and it's a bit smaller than I anticipated.

I have been using the following parts for around 3 years, and I intent to move them into the new case. From sizing up the components, I believe they will just about fit.

intel q6600 stock cooler
ati radeon 4850 HD
4GB RAM (each stick has a small heat sink)
Gigabyte p35-ds3l motherboard

The case also didn't come with a case fan (that part slipped my mind). However, I have an old 80mm case fan that I can use (it's probably 2-3 years old but hasn't been used a lot). It also uses a molex connector instead of the traditional connector (if that matters).

I usually run this hardware in a larger case with a 120mm fan. The temperatures do get quite high, mainly due to the large amount of dust that builds up. After a good clean, the parts still run a bit on the warm side.

Considering I will not need to use the machine for gaming (but hd videos + general web use), is this a terrible idea? I could always return the case and get a new one.

a b B Homebuilt system
April 27, 2012 3:48:30 PM

I think it will work fine... setup and check the temps as you test it.
Do you have room to add another fan, so you have one as an intake and one as an exhaust?
m
l
April 27, 2012 4:25:10 PM

No there is no room for another fan unfortunately. I think I will just try it out as you say. It looks like I could fit a 92mm fan in there, perhaps that would help if I bought a fairly good one
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
a b B Homebuilt system
April 27, 2012 4:44:13 PM