How come you can't use multiple CPU's for the same program?

lw1990

Honorable
Aug 10, 2012
I'm new to building custom PC's and understanding PC components in general. I heard that the record for fastest CPU is somewhere close to 8.5 ghz when overclocked. I'm wondering why someone could not set up a computer to use multiple average CPU's, like four 3.4ghz CPU's to function on the same program, so the program would have access to 13.6ghz of number crunching power (and therefore be faster if it had a lot of work to do)?

Majestic One

Distinguished
May 1, 2011
8.5Ghz - heh yeah, it is impractical and unreal considering these 'hobbyists' are doing nothing but going for a world record (i mean they use liquid nitrogen to keep the thing cool).
there are server motherboards that allow you to use multi cpu's to work.
http://www.newegg.com/Store/SubCategory.aspx?SubCategory=302&name=Server-Motherboards
but i am pretty sure you can not use all 2 or 4 or 6 cpu's at once for say one game [citaion needed]. mostly these things are used for, well as you can tell by the mobo name type, servers; but also are widely used by graphic rendering artists. the dudes that MAKE your games LOL - and on top of that, i am finding out they use workstation video cards too for this heavy graphic intense rendering and generation and not gaming GPU's.

Because software doesn't work like that.

The lowest level software operates on is the "thread" level. Every process has at least one thread. The OS will schedule threads on the CPU, which the CPU then operates on.

Now things get complicated. Most programs, while they have many threads, will either
A: Have one or two threads that do the majority of the processing, limiting how well the program scales
B: Have many threads, but due to I/O waits, are unable to execute them in parallel