Which card should i buy..

anee1712

Honorable
Feb 20, 2012
i'm a absolute noob about all these things.. so please help me out here!
I'm buying a new pc &
I've been suggested 2 gpu's buy my pc guy..
Nvidia geforce gt 550 1 GB or the ati radeon hd 5970 2GB ?

the rest of my pc config is
3.1 ghz i5 processor
4 gb ddr3 ram
500 gb hdd
help me out here..

Solution
Hello.

First, what's your PSU?

Second, 4 GB of RAM is good now but it will be not in the future. Even today some games are limited by 4GB RAM. Grabbin 8GB RAM is like $15 difference from 4GB.

Third, the two cards cannot be compared because 5970 is a dual GPU and it has 2-3 times better performance than 550ti. But that might be the same on the price and the power consumpion too.

Generally if you can buy the 5970 (I suppose it will be around $350) you should better go for a 6970 or a GTX570. They are single gpus, offer 80% performance of 5970, but they might be cheaper, consume less power, have no problem with drivers, both offer more VRAM (2GB is a lie on 5970 since it uses 2x1GB in order to maximize performance, so its like a high...

jeffredo

Distinguished
The HD 5970 is better, but exactly what are your needs? Light or heavy gaming? What is your monitor resolution and what is your power supply specs? Pretty much need those to give a recommendation that's worth anything.

anee1712

Honorable
Feb 20, 2012
im not a heavy gamer.. but i do love to play a occasional game like COD or GTA.. my screen res is 1920x1080
other needs include watching movies, net streaming, light photo n video editing

Hello.

First, what's your PSU?

Second, 4 GB of RAM is good now but it will be not in the future. Even today some games are limited by 4GB RAM. Grabbin 8GB RAM is like $15 difference from 4GB.

Third, the two cards cannot be compared because 5970 is a dual GPU and it has 2-3 times better performance than 550ti. But that might be the same on the price and the power consumpion too.