Sign in with
Your question

???How's this for a gaming rig???

Last response: in Systems
April 28, 2012 1:31:24 PM

I'm a first time computer builder and i am looking to build a computer that will last me a while without having to buy today's "latest and greatest". as i said before i am a first time builder so if there is any issues in this configuration then please go ahead and say so. my budget is $1500 on the computer itself i did not factor monitor or the keyboard and mouse. i have been researching for info about what parts to get and this is what i have come up with.

-CPU-AMD FX-6100 Zambezi 3.3GHz Socket AM3+ 95W Six-Core

i will not be overclocking right now but i bought the fan to leave myself the opportunity

-CPU fan- Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus.

it got great reviews and i want a fan because i feel that i will break anything with cooling liquid in my computer and spill it on my parts ;D

-Graphics Card- Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit

i was VERY unsure about this. please help enlighten me with pro's and con's. i also plan to run these in crossfire

-RAM- G.Skill Ripjaws-X 16 GB : 4 x 4 GB Memory - DIMM 240-pin - 1866 MHz

i know that you say that all of this is overkill but i plan on giving 8gb of it to my minecraft server so i can have hundreds of peaple play without lag

-Case- Thermaltake Level 10 Series Level 10 GTS Snow Edition Mid Tower

OR

NZXT Phantom 410 White

the NZXT is cheaper so i am most likely going to go with it for $$$ purposes. if you know any cool full tower cases i will look at them. (dont care if it is mid or full, i have plenty of disk space)

PSU-Corsair TX750 V2 -750 Watt

i don't think i will ever need any more wattage. Right? it is semi-modular and BRONZE certified 80 PLUS and all that good stuff

-Motherboard- ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional AM3+ AMD 990FX

goes with the theme of red i just realized i had. but i dont quite understand socket types??? help
plz

-HDD- Western Digital Caviar Green 3TB