Sign in with
Your question

Help me fix my laptop

Last response: in Components
August 11, 2012 11:33:51 AM

Hello everyone,

I'm a bit of a noob, but im always willing to learn which could help. Basically, a few weeks ago I dropped my laptop (ACER ASPIRE 5332) with the headphone jack plugged into the socket. This damaged the headphone socket and now I can't get sound via my headphones :/ . Realistically what are my options (cash strapped student)? I tried a USB sound card but it was a cheap one that made my headphones crazily warm?

Thanks in advance, you have no idea how much your help will be appreciated.
ADAM.

More about : fix laptop

August 11, 2012 11:47:46 AM

You don't need a sound card, if you have a spare USB port then you can buy some USB headphones and plug them into the USB port, they will work just the same as ones plugs into a headphone jack. They are pretty cheap too.

I wouldn't use that cheap sound card if it makes your headphones warm

Are you sure the socket is causing the problem or is it the headphone jack? Try your headphones on another PC or device, if they work then it must be the laptop audio jack like you said.

The socket on the laptop just contains a few metal contacts so might not cost too much to get them fixed up
August 11, 2012 12:01:12 PM

Thankyou for the reply!

Its definitely not the headphones as several have failed to work. The main reason I really want this fixed is I picked up a pair of expenive headphones pretty cheap recently, and their not USB based, which sucks as I'd love to use them with my laptop in all their glory? Is there an efficient way to do this?

Thanks again!
Related resources
August 11, 2012 12:11:46 PM

I had a hunch you had a good pair of headphones and USB was a no go :p 

I only know 2 options but there could be more. The first is what you have already tried which is a external sound card, maybe a better one would not heat the headphones up.