Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Beginner - Gaming - $400-600 (No external comps)

Last response: in Systems
April 28, 2012 8:31:52 PM

Hello, thanks for viewing my post. I am a complete beginner to building Desktops and need advice.

I am currently trying to build a gaming PC under $600. I already have a case, monitor, mouse and keyboard. My main focus is for it to be easy to upgrade in the future. I have a list of components I've been researching, but I really don't know if they are good for each other or if they are worth the price. I will list each component and why I thought it would be a good choice.

First off, I already have a Cooler Master Centurion Case.

http://www.coolermaster-usa.com/category.php?category_b...
It's a mid-tower case that can hold ATX and Micro ATX Motherboards.

Motherboard/CPU
I found a combo deal at Newegg for a Motherboard and CPU.
($109) GIGABYTE GA-970A-UD3 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
($149) AMD FX-6100 Zambezi 3.3GHz Socket AM3+ 95W Six-Core Desktop Processor FD6100WMGUSBX

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?Ite... ($246 for both, saving $13)

I think I like this Motherboard because it seems to have a lot of space for future upgrades. The x4 240pin memory slots (max 32gb) seem nice for this purpose. It also has x2 PCI Express 2.0 slots in case I want to use SLI in the future.
The processor just seems like a decently powerful CPU that came bundled with a Mobo I liked.

Video Card
I'm really not sure which card I want or should use. As long as I can upgrade it with ease in the next year or two I'm fine. I want something that can play Diablo 3 on High graphics well. This is the card I came up with:
GIGABYTE GV-N550D5-1GI GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... ($119)