Sign in with
Your question

Performance and compatibility

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 22, 2012 3:00:26 AM

hi there guys. it's my first time posting here in the forums so please do bare with me.

i'm planning to buy a new graphics card for my old computer. i'm wondering, what could be a good replacement for my 8800 GTX to play battlefield 3 on a resolution of 1920x1080 that is compatible with my old gaming rig that runs smooth and puts out really good gaming quality without getting any problems.

a lot of you might suggest me to just buy a new gaming rig. yes i'm planning to build one but it's not till the end of this year that i would assemble one. i'm just looking for a temporary replacement. i checked for some discussions regarding graphics card benchmarks for battlefiled 3 and the good cards range from GTX 295 - GTX 590.

running battlefield 3 on a 1920x1080 resolution with an 8800gtx is ok for me. although i run it on low settings. the fps is not that good but it's still manageable within my terms.

any suggestions would really help me. :D 

system specs :

Windows 7 32 bit
Asus Maximus II Formula
Intel Core2 Quad @ 2.4ghz
4 GB RAM
EVGA 8800 GTX
Seasonic M12 II 620w PSU
February 22, 2012 3:20:08 AM

Best you buy the 7970 if you want future proofing.
In the future you can add another one if the prices come down.
The problem with the gpu market is now that Nvidia hasnt come out with anything and its hard to recommend a gpu.With the new Nvidia Kepler we might be looking for a price drop in the gtx580s and 6970s so in my opinion its hard to say really.

But if you wanted best you buy a AMd 7970 that way you can add another one.Its newer technology and has more future proofing.

So later on you can add another Amd hd7970.

I myself am waiting to see if the Nvidia kepler would bring down prices of Fermi.That way i can buy dual gtx580s.
m
l
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
February 22, 2012 3:38:10 AM