Benchmarks and Overclocking vs Winning

I really have to ask this question, since I've been piddling with puters since Dos 6 and Windows 3.11 were still being sold on the shelf. What is with all the hype of the need to overclock and all the concern over benchmarks ? I am sincerely convinced that people are overclocking and/or upgrading to an unnecessary cpu just because they don't like their "standing" on the benchmark scale. I've been playing high graphics games for many years now and they always run smooth. Anything from MMORG's to offline FPS games, I don't see much of a difference in game play between my AMD Athlon dual core and my Phenom II x6 1090t. The only time I saw a difference is when my Athlon puter had only a 128 meg vid card in it, but after I upgraded it, the game play went as smooth as the phenom puter. I've always built my own puters. I generally keep 4 puters on my desk for multi-boxing in some online mmorgs, so when one gets old form age, I throw it out and build another one.
But I have never overclocked and never worried about looking at benchmarks, when building a puter. I just play games and enjoy myself. I would rather be competitive in a game, than spend my time being competitive on a benchmark scale. Benchmarks and overclocking will not help me win the games I play.
7 answers Last reply
More about benchmarks overclocking winning
  1. Depends...

Not everything revolves around games. I encode videos and the reason I plan to upgrade it to improve performance (i.e. decrease the total amount of time it takes to complete an encode).

Currently when I encode a 1920x1080 movie using Handbrake and the x.264 codec I get on average about 9 frames per second based on the settings I am using. I am also using the 2-pass method to get better video quality.

A two hour movie has 172,800 frames (NTSC). Encoding at an average of 9 frames per second with the 2-pass method means it will take 10.667 hours to completely encode a two hour movie with my Q9450.