Requesting Final Review before Purachse on First Build

mrisump

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2011
Introduction
Hello everybody!

I'm a week from buying the components for my first computer build.
I'd like you guys' opinion on the build, in case I missed something, or there's any revisions that should be considered.

You might also want to know that the computer will be standing on the carpet floor, below my desk. That puts it about 2 feet from my head.

The Goal
First, I want to tell you the 'goal' with the PC though.

Since it's my first build, I want it to be easy to build. This is in part why I chose the power supply, as well as the case, that I did.
I also want it to be able to play some games, without having to turn everything at minimum settings - and that for a few years to come.
Furthermore, I really want it to be quiet. I'm planning to do make some videos wherein audio quality could be an issue - so I don't want my microphone picking up sound from a computer which is noisier than my vacuum cleaner.

To summarize:

■Easy to Build
■Gaming Oriented
■Long Termed
■Quiet

The Components

Motherboard
ASUS P8Z68-V

Processor
Intel Core i7-2600K

Graphics Card
EVGA GeForce GTX 680 2GB

Power Supply
CORSAIR AX750

RAM
CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1600

Harddisk
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB

SSD
OCZ Vertex 3 120GB

CPU Cooler
Noctua NH-D14

Case
CORSAIR Obsidian 550D

Fans
(3x) Fractal Design Silent Series 120mm
(4x) Fractal Design Silent Series 140mm

Reasons and Reasonings

Why I'm going for an i7
I'll be doing some video editing (Let's Plays, and such), and I'd like the videos to be rendered fast. Therefor, I'm going with the i7, for it's Hyper Threading (over the i5).

Why I'm buying 2600K instead of 2700K
I really see no point in investing $20 for the mere sake of 100Mhz. If I really wanted those 100Mhz, I could clock it myself.

Why I'm not going for an Ivy Bridge Processor