Sign in with
Your question

I5 2500k & Radeon 6970 temps ridiculously high

Last response: in Components
August 13, 2012 4:58:39 AM

I've had this rig for over a year, and this has been a constant headache.

I have a Coolermaster Hyper 212+ and am using Arctic Silver 5 thermal paste.

At idle, my temps never dip below 40 C, and while running Prime 95, they can creep up to 90 C at 4.4 gHz. I've reseated the heatsink about half a dozen times myself, using different paste spread methods every time with no improvement. I even had someone else do it for me at a PC shop at one point, so the seating isn't the problem.

Ambient temps are around 20 C, so that's a non-issue. Core voltage is below 1.2 volts, so it shouldn't effect anything too much either.

My case is a Thermaltake Armor A60 mid-tower and the airflow is good. I've gone so far as to blow the thing out with compressed air. Did remove a bit of dust, but that didn't help at all with the temps.

As a side note, my 6970 runs at about 50 C idle and can creep up to 90 C while running Furmark. Technically within spec of the card, but I've read around and this is at the very high end of things.

I have run out of ideas as for why this thing is so hot all the time. Anybody here have any suggestions?
August 13, 2012 5:01:38 AM

You're doing something wrong with the heatsink.

GPU temps are fine, but CPU temps ARE not.
m
l
August 13, 2012 5:15:48 AM

It should never stay above 65*C during use, prime can push it up to as high as 68-70 but if its going above this you should downclock it or check your heatsink. I dont necessarily know how good that heatsink is for overclocking, i only have mine set to 4.2ghz but it never goes over 66C during prime 95 for over 24 hours. I have the http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... cpu cooler at the moment and if i wanted to go higher i would get a better cooler.
m
l
Related resources
August 13, 2012 6:06:51 AM

Your problem boils down to your overclock of the CPU.