Sign in with
Your question

Budget HD Editing System

Last response: in Systems
April 30, 2012 1:25:24 AM

Hello, I have never built a system before. I am fairly broke, but need a budget system to edit HD footage on. It's mostly for personal use and side work, I am not doing hardcore 4k resolution work, but need something that meets budget and performance. In short: I am willing to wait the extra 18 seconds per render if it saves me a few hundred bucks.

I will NOT be doing any FX heavy work in after effects, photoshop, etc. This will be minimal visual FX (mostly color correction) and just needs to be able to handle editing 1080 clips fairly well in programs like Adobe Premiere.

Right now I have these components in mind:

ASUS VH236H 23 Inch Widescreen LCD Monitor - $158

Corsair Builder Series CX600 600 watt power suply- $63

DVD Drive- $23

Now, I own a fairly new 500GB and 500Gb external drive that can get me through, so I can hold out on getting more space for now. I need to get a case, motherboard, CPU and RAM.

My budget for these four things is about $450.

I was going to go with an Intel i5 since it would give me an easy upgrade later, but I do not think I can get away with it. The other route is obviously AMD but I have no clue if their best processors can even match i3 much less i5 or i7- I honestly have no real world experience with them.

***I realize I can probably get away with the 500w corsair, but I'm sort of paranoid about power supplies, so maybe let me know...I do not plan on getting a seperate graphics card, if I can get a motherboard with a built in basic GPU, it would be fine. This WILL NOT be used for GAMING.

Anyway, thanks for any help...

More about : budget editing system

April 30, 2012 1:41:24 AM

spending ~220$ on an i5-3550(HD 4000 graphics supposedly is a decently large step compared to the previous HD 3000), ~130 on a mobo and the last 100 on a case+ram is doable
m
l
April 30, 2012 1:56:42 AM