Sign in with
Your question
Solved

1st time build i5-3570k with incremental upgrades: good idea?

Last response: in Systems
May 1, 2012 1:12:40 AM

Current Situation: I’ve had my trusty old Toshiba Satellite for almost 5 years now, and I’m concerned that it’s about to die on me. The signs are there. I’ve been backing up regularly, so no worries. But I need a PC for college (graduating in August) and I’ve decided that my next PC will be a custom built desktop. This is my first build, but I’ve spent a significant amount of time looking up components. I’ve based my build on the $1000 budget build, but will split purchasing it into segments. My idea is to get a strong, overclockable foundation for a CPU, mobo, case, and power supply, and build the rest from there. I want to keep the budget for this as low as possible (does $500 seem reasonable?) after sales, rebates, limited offers.

Later, as I get more cash, I plan to purchase additional parts: more RAM, one or two graphics cards (I’ll worry about replacing my first PSU when I start to worry about CF/SLI), more case fans, CPU cooler, SSD, another HDD, BD drive, maybe a TV tuner card, and wireless adapter to name some specifics.

Before you read the rest, is this a good idea? Or should I just buy a netbook/notebook for <$350 to get me by until I graduate in August and we know more about Ivy Bridge?

Approximate Purchase Date: Start buying in a couple weeks, upgrade by November?
Budget Range: $500? After Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important:
Current Needs: Word Processing, powerpoints, multitasking, Internet, Netflix, gaming: SWKOTOR low settings?
Future Needs: GAMING (GF3, MW3, Skyrim), HD video converting, multitasking, Netflix, internet, Word Processing, ppts,

Parts Not Required: OS (Windows 7), mouse, keyboard, monitor, speakers, Hard drive, DVD drive
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Amazon