sixstring88

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2010
I was just wondering since I haven't been getting as good of performance out of my AMD Radeon HD 6790 as my Nvidia GTS 250 was in the past if it might be because of a bottleneck. I might not have the settings setup correctly in the gpu catalyst since I am new to AMD but I get alot of pop in and the framerates aren't where they were previously these are my specs.

MSI 870A-G54 Motherboard (not the FX one)
4 GB of Corsair XMS3 DDR3 RAM 9-9-9-24
OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w PSU
AMD Athlon II 635 Propus 2.9GHz
AMD Radeon HD 6790
Windows 7 Ultimate (dunno if that matters)

Solution

Yes,you really need to spend a lot of time to make it overclocked to 1600MHz buy tweaking the voltage and clock multiplier.

Please be very careful while overclocking and refer to some guides or notes or forums for overclocking RAM.

sixstring88

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2010
Ah ok I will do some overclocking either tonight or tomorrow. I have a Zalman CPU cooler so I should be good on that, and yes I removed the old drivers even reinstalled Windows. I dunno if I should mention that it was the dual fan model I dunno if that would have anything to do with it being that it needs to 6 pin PCI-E power cords as I heard some PSUs don't split that properly and you don't get enough power (dunno if that's true though). I also wanted to know how I can get my RAM to run at 1600 (and it is 1600 RAM) and if there is a need to it runs at like 1300 or something. I know I sound like a noob :p

aviral

Honorable
Mar 11, 2012

Your cpu cooler is fine.

Yes,its true that psu may not provide enough power .

Have you checked your motherboard RAM speed capability?

aviral

Honorable
Mar 11, 2012

Yes,you really need to spend a lot of time to make it overclocked to 1600MHz buy tweaking the voltage and clock multiplier.

Please be very careful while overclocking and refer to some guides or notes or forums for overclocking RAM.

Solution

AdrianPerry

Distinguished