Advice for a analysis workhorse/gaming/media beast

unin5pired

Honorable
May 3, 2012
Hey guys. I'm building a personal desktop to use for work and play.

I'm a physicist, and will be using the machine to supplement the computing available to me at work. It'll be used for image analysis, particle tracking, stats, etc., in IDL, matlab, Igor Pro, Mathematica, etc. - generally in ways that can take advantage of multi-threading. I also do a fair amount of image preprocessing in Fiji (ImageJ). My raw images are often ~10Gb dicom stacks, and ideally I'd prefer to manipulate them without splitting the stacks. It'd also be nice to be able to generate meshes for FEM simulations (I'm a big fan of Rhino3D), or maybe even run some small DEM simulations (not something I've done before), though these last two applications are non-essential.

At the same time, I'd like to be able to enjoy the thing in my downtime. I'm an avid console gamer, and would like to migrate some of my gaming back to the pc. I'll also probably use CAD for some home projects.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Approximate Purchase Date: In the next month and a half - no rush, but sooner is better

Budget Range: $3000ish, but if I should only be spending half that, please tell me!

System Usage from Most to Least Important: see above

Parts Not Required: N/A

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Amazon

Parts Preferences: I'd like to go intel, been leaning toward Sandy-E.

Overclocking: Maybe - if I need to, or get bored

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe - as an upgrade in a year or more

Monitor Resolution: aiming for 1920x1200 (that's what I like at work)

Additional Comments: My apartment is almost as old as the wiring within, so low power consumption is a plus. Also, the apartment isn't huge, so quiet isn't bad either.