Sign in with
Your question
Closed

VPN stuck "Verifying user name and password".

Last response: in Networking
May 9, 2011 9:34:09 PM

A little help here???

Problem:
I am a software development consultant, and I have a client who is running a PPTP VPN on Windows Server 2008 R2, which I was previously able to connect to via my Hp laptop running Windows 7 Ultimate x64. Now, when I try to connect, I get stuck on "Verifying user name and password", which eventually errors out with:
"Disconnected.
Error 806: The VPN connection between your computer and the VPN server could not be completed. The most common cause for this failure is that at least one Internet device (for example, a firewall or a router) between your computer and the VPN server is not configured to allow Generic Routing Encapsulation (GRE) protocol packets. If the problem persists, contact your network administrator or Internet Service Provider."

So, the information I find out on the internet is that basically, as the error message states, GRE needs to be able to traverse between my workstation and the VPN end-point.

I'm fairly sure this is a problem with a configuration on the laptop itself (bad firewall settings, etc), since it used to work, and a Windows 7 professional virtual machine on the same network is able to connect to the VPN successfully.

On the virtual machine that works (Win7 pro), I have windows firewall turned off.

On the machine that doesn't work, I was trying with Windows Firewall set with TCP port 1723 is open both directions, and I've tried GRE enabled/disabled on inbound and outbound, to no effect. It also doesn't work with Windows Firewall turned off.

Network Setup: