Radeon hd 7950 vs gtx 580

mcaulif1

Honorable
Feb 28, 2012
Building a comp... Between these two video cards. Anyone explain what I should go for simply? Would appreciate it.

mcaulif1

Honorable
Feb 28, 2012
Right, I'm not doing too well with all the technicalities of the review, I'm extremely new to this and just getting mind jammed by all the information with reading/building the past few days lol. Just need a clear straight forward answer and why I guess I'm asking.

unclejehmimah

Honorable
Feb 27, 2012

Clear straight forward answer is: 7950. (Note, I am in no way a fan of AMD, this card is just better. I own a 580 myself and it's great for it's time.)

sarcasm

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2011
7950. Reasons:

- Much Lower power consumption during idle and full load
- Scales really well with crossfire
- Can do eyefinity (3 monitor set up)
- Less heat output by around 10c
- Overclockable to almost 7970 performance
- Generally equal performance to the GTX 580, slightly better or worse depending on the game
- Uses 6+6 PCI Express pins compared to 8+6 on the GTX 580
- 3GB VRAM, so you can run high resolution textures to your heart's content without every worrying about not having enough VRAM (and is great for eyefinity)
- PCI-E 3.0 for use with Ivy Bridge

And yes I'm a GTX 580 owner myself. There are still actually reasons I'd rather go with a GTX 580, however it's pointless because Kepler is around the corner and that next GPU will most likely be more worth it. But if you absolutely cannot wait now, then my vote goes to the 7950 still.

unclejehmimah

Honorable
Feb 27, 2012

You have to get into the game sometime, Kepler isn't exactly right around the corner (about a year) so just go with the 7950.

4745454b

Titan