Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Disadvantages of Bottom-Mounted PSU?

Last response: in Components
August 19, 2012 10:15:59 PM

Back in 2008 Tom's did a review of mid-range cases and selected the Antec 300 as most bang for the buck.

That case has the power supply on the bottom, and as a newbie, I wondered if that configuration had any disadvantages.

For instance, does that require the PSU to be installed upside-down?

What does it do for cable management?
a b ) Power supply
August 19, 2012 10:21:55 PM

Its like your comp upside down, the PSU should be positioned so that the fan or vent is facing inside the case, not the wall.
m
l
a c 111 ) Power supply
August 19, 2012 10:29:00 PM

The point of the PSU to be bottom mounted is so you can draw air from the bottom into the power supply and eject it out the back.

Not drawing air from the inside of the case and exhausting it out the back.

m
l
Related resources
a c 111 ) Power supply
August 19, 2012 10:34:26 PM

No, it actually is a disadvantage to put it on the top!

Putting it on the bottom is the best choice. Every current case has its psu on the bottom.
m
l
August 19, 2012 10:34:29 PM

Thanks - I get the "hot air rises" part of putting it on the bottom, but it seems most are mounted on the top. So, are there any disadvantages involved with putting it on the bottom?
m
l

Best solution

a b ) Power supply
August 19, 2012 10:38:28 PM

Wouldn't thing so as cases that require you to mount the PSU on the bottom are designed like top mounted PSU cases just at the bottom if that makes sense.
August 20, 2012 2:16:52 AM

Okay, thanks - in all the old reviews I read they were on the top and some folks found they had problems with them when they were on the bottom, but I didn't know what the problems were. If the new ones are all like that then it must no longer be a problem, and they psu are all likely designed for it.

I appreciate the help.
m
l
a c 157 ) Power supply
August 20, 2012 2:27:35 AM