Monitor shuts down as if hardware is overheating, but it's not.

DaveMc617

Honorable
Jun 5, 2012
Alright, so here's my problem:

I started playing Metro:2033 for the first time in months today, and after mere minutes of playing, the monitor shut down and showed a message that no input was detected. When this happened, the sound coming through my headphones hiccuped a bit, then died out. After this, the LEDs on the tower remained on, so I figured the computer itself was still on; I tried turning the monitor off and then back on, alt+tabbing out of the game, and ctrl+alt+del, but nothing got the display to go through the monitor.

I figured it could have been an isolated incident so I restarted and put on Metro again... and it was a repeat of the same thing just minutes into playing. Thinking the problem might stem from a conflict between the game and my drivers due to a recent update or something, I tried Civ 5 to see if the problem repeated itself; it did.

So now, I decided to pop open the tower and clean out the built up dust etc. (there wasn't a tremendous buildup, in fact, it looked pretty good for not being cleaned up in months). I booted back up and played the game, this time playing for about an hour and a half before deciding to wrap it up for a little while before playing again later.