Solved

Video Card Upgrade

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 1, 2012 7:18:03 PM

Hello everyone,

I am a Game Design student as well as an avid gamer, and I currently run this setup.

Custom Built PC from Buyxg.com

RAM: 16GB (4x4GB)
Video Cards: 1GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 250 [x2]
CPU: Intel i7 2.80Ghz
Power Supply: 1000watts

Although I have two video cards that were said to be SLI ready, they do not have an SLI connection on the card itself... which I found odd once the PC was delivered. So I have one card connected to a 26" monitor with 1 HDMI cable, and the other card is just sitting in the PCI slot. I bought The Elder Scrolls skyrim and I am unable to run it on Ultra graphics, so I was kind of bummed (As I was when I found out I could not SLI bridge my cards). I also use the following programs: Autodesk Maya, Zbrush, and Photoshop.

So now that all of the explanation is out of the way, I can get into my question! I work IT at a warehouse part-time and I understand most concepts about computers, however I always wanted to learn more about video cards. I was wondering what card(s) I should upgrade to if I want to run my PC games on their best quality?

Could anyone offer me any tips or cards I should look for, because I was looking into upgrading soon. I would ideally like to SLI bridge two NVIDA GeForce cards, but I am not sure if that is the best way to go.... Please help! I am confused.

More about : video card upgrade

March 1, 2012 8:07:02 PM

Hi nctech. First thing, are you certain your motherboard is SLI-certified? If not, that's your first upgrade.

Next, I would recommend SLI on the GTX 560 Ti. It's a very cost-effective single GPU that when put in SLI competes with the highest-end cards available.