Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Im about to buy amd 7970, but my friend said dont buy amd cards

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 2, 2012 9:55:18 AM

this is my first time to build a PC, im usually play games using ps3 but i sold them to move up into pc gaming, see i was this close of purchasing amd fastest single card 7970 but my friend said amd is not worth the money, he said "amd drivers sucks" whats the point on having powerfull card but the software behind it cant utilize it

see iam a noob, i really dont know a thing about drivers and such

im planning to play witcher2,skyrim,battlefield,mw3,and all other game

is my friend meant that even if i bought 7970 its gonna perform like lower card on nvidia because of lack better driver from amd??

please explain to me, so i dont get any mis information

thx and warm hello from indonesia, pardon my bad english its my 2nd language
a b U Graphics card
March 2, 2012 10:09:28 AM

Well this is half true, amd sometimes have problems in drivers, and some games requires extra patchs to work, 7970 is a great card and will perform great, but you will have to always keep upgrading drivers and searching for the best one, 7970 is a great card, with a new techonology so the price/performance you get is awesome, you could do 3 things, or wait for the 6xx nvidia series to go out, and check the prices, or go ahead and buy the 7970 you will have a good performance for the price, or go and buy a gtx 580 you may be paying a little more but you'll be getting a great nvidia card, with Physx/Cuda/3D Vision Features...

You will be able to play all of those games with the 7970 just sometimes with new releases if you see problems in performance you may need to check online for a fix... but it is a good solution if you know how to work yourself over the internet.
Score
a c 78 U Graphics card
a b \ Driver
March 2, 2012 10:15:14 AM