Solved

Is This 650W good enough?

Last response: in Components
August 22, 2012 7:35:58 PM

I'm building my first PC and I don't know if this power supply is good enough

My specs will be:

Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black

Motherboard: MSI 970A-G46 ATX AM3+

Memory: G.skill Ripjaws 4GB DDR3-1333(1 Stick)

Storage: western Digital Caviar blue 500GB 7200RPM

GFX: Evga Geforce GTX 570 2.5GB

Case: Antec Nine Hundred two

Power supply: XFX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V

Should I Change it or do I need a stronger Power supply?

Please help im new at this!

More about : 650w good

a c 158 ) Power supply
August 22, 2012 7:38:22 PM

It's easily enough for your rig and some extreme overclocking. The XFX Cor 550W is actually sufficient for your build.
m
l
August 22, 2012 7:54:31 PM

Rugger said:
It's easily enough for your rig and some extreme overclocking. The XFX Cor 550W is actually sufficient for your build.

When I do the power calculator it says I need 595W to power my system. Thanks for the Tip I'll keep it at this power supply just in case.
m
l
Related resources
a c 158 ) Power supply
August 22, 2012 7:58:52 PM

PSU calculators are notorious for giving high end numbers...most are supported by retailers or PSU mfrs....do you think they have a reason to want to sell larger PSUs?
m
l
August 22, 2012 8:06:32 PM

Rugger said:
PSU calculators are notorious for giving high end numbers...most are supported by retailers or PSU mfrs....do you think they have a reason to want to sell larger PSUs?

I guess your right. I still don't know If XFX company is good though, my friend told me that antec and cooler master are the best so I don't know if XFX have reliable power supply.
m
l
a b ) Power supply
August 22, 2012 10:46:37 PM

Cooler master is not the best, i have heard of them having troubles on some models. Antec, corsair, and seasonic make great psu's. Xfx also make good ones, from what I heard.

Hope this helps!
m
l
August 23, 2012 1:16:12 AM

fil1p said: