Sign in with
Your question

Basic Building Tips? (I've Got My Build Selected)

Last response: in Systems
May 7, 2012 11:40:25 PM

I know this is long... but it's really not THAT long. Please read it anyway!

Hello,

So I'm well on my way to finally building the computer I've been envisioning for the past two months! In the process, I somehow became really good at hardware, got up to being a Veteran on tomshardware, and ranked 3rd in system building for April. As you can tell, when I do something, I make sure I become an "expert" on it (I'm no expert ;)  ).

Anyway, here's the build if you want to look it over:
CPU: i5-2500k
Mobo: Extreme3 Gen3
CPU Cooler: Hyper 212 Evo
RAM: 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 1.5v 240 pin
GPU: ASUS 7850
HDD: An external and a 256 GB SSD already bought (I had the best birthday gift ever a couple years ago)
Case: Fractal R3
PSU: PC Power and Cooling 600W
DVD Drive: ASUS DVD-RW

First issue: PSU. No, I'm never going to SLI/Crossfire. Issue resolved.

Anyway, I'm going to be OCing the CPU and GPU. I can't have a side fans 'cause of sound issues. I'm probably going to have a second intake. What would you suggest? I'll put it on the front, so a high-pressure quiet fan would be best. I would go Noctua, but it's expensive. Take a look at the Fractal to find out why I want high-pressure... that thing sucks through a few little holes on the side AND a dust filter.

Anyway, I'm a complete newbie to actually assembling computers. I really don't know much about it. I've looked at a few guides, but I want to ask a few questions. I'll probably update these with more later on. I'll cross out answered ones and put in the answers when they're answered (for other peoples' reference).

1) Do I really need an anti-static wrist strap? I'm on carpet in Indiana. It's not very dry. I'll work on a wooden table. I'll slap the case every once in a while. Do I really need one?

2) How should I put in the RAM? Which slots? 2 and 4, or 1 and 3?