CPU usage for BF3 100% FX - 4100

Greek4592

Honorable
Aug 24, 2012
Hello everyone! This is my first time posting on this website. I am in need of some help! I recently sold my i7 intel rig to build a budget AMD rig. (Due to school reasons) Anyways, long story short, whenever i'm playing BF3 Multiplayer OR Singleplayer my CPU reaches about 100 % and causes the game to crash. (Freezing of the screen then results in going alt tab and i have to CTRL ALT DELETE out of BF3.

So my question to toms hardware, is, WHY?! Why does this keep happening? Is the CPU bottle necking my 6950 or what on earth is going on? Also i play on a 27' 1980 * 1050 res.

Please help me out :)

P.S. I never overclocked either my CPU or GPU.

System specs as follows;

FX - 4100 @ 3.6
Gigabyte UMD3 900 FX
8 Gigs of Corsair Vengeance (2 x 4 GB)
AMD Sapphire 6950 (2G) OC Edition
800 Watt GS Corsair PSU rev 2
60 G OcZ SSD (For OS and BF3)
320G Storage HD

Thank you so much!

Solution
I tried to do this properly so I found a FX 4100 from older test platforms, having never used anything less than a FX 8XXX chip this is somewhat of a voyage of discovery. I have the chip running stable no throttling and heat is well in check at stock clocks, running DDR3 1866 Patriot AMD Performance RAM.

There seems to be a bottlenecking with some game titles, the Latency on the FX 4XXX chips is poor compared to the 8XXX chips, so much so they are at least 10% slower than a Phenom II, running it with the FX 8120 I have the latency is even worse, its something I haven't noticed or paid attention to but it seems like the IMC on the 4XXX series is seriously weak compared to old and the stronger FX chips.

I know most will...

Blahman11

Distinguished
May 23, 2011