Sign in with
Your question

Browser back arrow doesn't go back to same forum list

Last response: in Forum Feedback
June 8, 2012 8:53:50 PM

Hi all, I really enjoy these forums but have one suggestion to make it better.

I used to be a programmer (back in mainframe and Pascal days) and never did too much web design. I wouldn't know how to implement it but I would like to see this work. When I go to a post on forum or news pages 2,3, or 4 on the Tom's home page and then go "back" it always defaults to page 1, not the one I was on. I would like to go back to the page I was on before I went to view the post.

I browsed through the forum feedback (not all of it and wasn't sure how to do a search) but couldn't find this issue so I'd like to bring it up. It may not be possible but some of you guru's might invent a way! I challenge you to be creative.

Thanks!
June 9, 2012 12:44:44 PM

Hello dbc13;

I tried to re-create the symptom you describe.
Paged through the News archive and the Laptops and Notebooks forum and couldn't recreate what you describe.
For example in Laptops I paged forward through pages 2, 3 and 7 and my Firefox (ver 13) back button walked me back through pages 3, 2 and the first page.
News worked the same way - back button took me back the way I'd come.
June 9, 2012 12:51:55 PM

Just tested Chrome ver 19. Same as my Firefox. Bouncing around randomly in the News archives and moving back through the pages I transited using the browser back button.
Related resources
June 10, 2012 1:08:05 AM

Got some result as WR2.
June 10, 2012 1:57:49 PM

Humm? I tried IE9 and it did the same thing that I described in my first post.

1. Goto Tom's home page.
2. scroll down to Latest News
3. Click on button 2 for second news page
4. click on any news item and view it
5. hit the browser back button
6. I'm back at home page, Latest News button 1, not 2