Think I was robbed of my Win 7 retail version

ppmp1230

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2012
I went to staples and paid 199.00 for Win 7 home prem. I then had some issues installing it so I took my rig to a computer shop. I left it there with my Win 7 disc, went back, paid for the service and exited. Before I left the store I verified the install of Win 7, which it worked and seemed to be correct. I just looked at my system and see that the Win 7 product ID is xxxx-OEM-xxxx ect ect. But this is not a OEM version and no where on my disk package or product key does it state OEM. So, before I go in tomorrow and confront this guy with the issues (and because I am a Police Officer and his store is in my jurisdiction) I want to make sure this isn't common. Before I go in a charge this individual with larceny of private property, i want to ensure I am not doing so incorrectly.

tlmck

Distinguished
I don't know about charging the guy, but you might at least go back and ask why the numbers do not match. Also, most OEM copies are $99. It is the retail version(includes manual and bigger packaging, etc.) that cost $199.

dormantreign

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2010
They may have just put a OEM version on there because it was faster taking you for a lack of better word "Fool". Now, sometimes they have images sitting around and use a program to install the image to your HDD, I believe norton used to do that, and rather then going though the process with your disc, they just used it instead, as they were used to it. I'd go back in an ask who did the instillation and did they have trouble with it as well, then you'll at least have a name and if they say they never had any issues when you bring up the OEM version they can't deny what happened to troubles installing. Then do your thing!

skaz

Distinguished