Crashing during gaming - Black Screen, sound loop.

Status
Not open for further replies.

haguruma

Honorable
May 8, 2012
I figured it was time to update my computer a few weeks ago so I decided to try my hand at making my own and ordered a megacombo package from Newegg.

At first it seemed to run perfectly fine, no strange hiccups or anything. Started up, installed Windows 7 and got everything ready to go.

I started playing TERA on my new rig and it ran beautifully--until randomly one day the screen blacked out and started repeating a fragment of the last sound played on loop. Monitor said it had no input, computer remained on but nothing would happened. Forced me to hard reset. Upon restarting my computer I had no error files outside of the usual "windows closed improperly."

Googling the problem didn't aid me that much, I found similar problems coming up in Skyrim and Tera but no solutions that worked. Updating my BIOs, Drivers, rewiring it for airflow, checking temperatures, etc. Nothing seems to work so far, so maybe I need a bit more insight or need to change something I'm not yet experienced with. I'm really afraid of ruining this by messing with it myself, so I'm requesting some help from others that might know what's going on.

I can confirm it has crashed in this way for me on Skyrim as well and the one that really irked me: Spore.

Here are the specs:

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD

Processor: AMD FX-8120 Zambezi 3.1GHz Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core

Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 15000)

GPU: SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition OC 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support

Power Supply: Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650M 650W ATX 12V v2.3 / EPS 12V v2.91 Modular Active PFC

HD: Seagate Barracuda ST31000524AS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5"

Solution