Broken CPU?

Kolto

Honorable
Aug 26, 2012
Hey guys,
I'm really hoping someone might be able to help with an issue I've had the past few days, I've tried everything I could find on how to fix it, tomshardware being very helpful in that process.

Anyway, to start my build is:
Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68MA-D2H-B3
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @3.8
HSF: Stock > changed to CM H212 Evo same day as computer stopped working.
RAM: Corsair Vengeance CL9 4GB x 4
GPU: Gigabyte NVIDIA 560 Ti 1Gb
Power Supply: Cooler Master 700W

Ok, so up until a few days ago I had the stock CPU cooler on and only 2 sticks of RAM. But I'm a 3D art student so have been using my computer to render out more and more and the temps were getting to an undesired level so I picked up the Cooler Master H212 Evo heat sink fan and a couple more sticks of RAM, also worth noting is I picked up a new BitFenix case fan to attach to the back as an exhaust.

Anyway, I installed all of the new components and booted up and everything was working fine at stock clocks and the temps dropped considerably without a load on them, so I decided to OC to 4.4. Which I did fine, booted, seemed stable, I then left the computer running some stress tests while I went out for a few hours. Came back, computer was still running fine, and the recorded temps never exceeded the high 60's. But as I was out and i liked the new fan I bought a new one, so I shut the computer down and proceeded to add this new fan. To check I had it the right way around I booted into the BIOS a few times while I did this. Had no problems, and made sure to shut down and re-ground before going back inside the case at all.