Sign in with
Your question

Should i go for I7-3770K or i7-3820

Last response: in CPUs
August 26, 2012 11:09:19 PM

hi all
i know this has been asked so much in previous threads , i read most of them but i still can't figure out which system to choose , most of the other threads talk about overclocking and gaming and i'm not into that
I'm not that overclock-er demanding extreme performance generating so much heat and noise ...i guess i will use the PC with default settings but i want it to be fast ...first I'm gonna specify what i use the PC for then u might help me choose on what's best and basically i want a pc that will last 4 years and more ...

I'm a civil engineer , i draw a lot of prints daily , i use autocad 2012 and i might be using 3D max soon , also in addition to autocad , I'm planning to rip and encode my entire DVD and bluray video collection to the best quality / size ration to store them on external hard drives and get rid of the discs because they are taking so much space (about 2000 discs combined)
so most of the time when I'm not drawing i will be working with movies ...i might play some games later if i had some time I'm not that anti gamer :D ...
so i was preparing to order my parts when i got stuck in choosing between these two platforms ...I'm an asus man , i have been using asus products for so long and my current pc has asus motherboard (P5N32E-SLI) aged about 5 years now and still working like a champ and i'm very satisfied with the amount of bucks i spent on it when it was released .....

so i went into the asus website , and based on expansion slots and the number of usb's , i narrowed my choices to two mother boards : the sabertooth X79 if i will be going for 2011 , or the maximus V extreme Z77 if I'm going for the 1155 , both are within my budget range and they don't vary that much choosing between them , so are the CPU's ....