Sign in with
Your question

EVGA 560 TI/ PSU Question

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 7, 2012 1:07:43 AM

Ok guys, complete noob here so bare with me.

Here is the video card I purchased a few weeks back.

video card http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6814130604

Here is the psu I purchased at the same time.

psu http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6817341044

As I was looking at the cable hook up in the video card manual, I noticed that for this card it has one of the middle slots in the six pin connector blacked out ( the one's that plug into the video card). The pci express cables that came with the psu have all six pins with none blacked out. The pci express cables also have two additional pins that would make it an 8 pin for a more powerful card I guess. So my question here is, will this be ok or do I need some sort of adapter? Hope I'm making sense, and thanks for the patience shown on these forums towards this noob. :) 

More about : evga 560 psu question

a b U Graphics card
March 7, 2012 1:43:12 AM

It seems that you've pasted Tom's-shortened links from some other thread, so neither link works and I can't really say.
What do you mean by "blacked out"? If the plugs fit into the card, it should be fine.
March 7, 2012 1:48:21 AM

kajabla said:
It seems that you've pasted Tom's-shortened links from some other thread, so neither link works and I can't really say.
What do you mean by "blacked out"? If the plugs fit into the card, it should be fine.

Ohh man, I'm sorry. I'll repost the links. Well in the video card manual it has a small diagram of what the six pin connector should look like. It has one of the pins blacked out, kind of like there should not be a pin there. The pci express cable that came with the psu has all 6 pins. Hard to really explain it w/o a picture I suppose. It does plug into the card fine though.
Related resources
March 7, 2012 1:50:16 AM

Well it seems I can't even copy and paste tonight :)