Sub $1000 Gaming Build Advice

deepfire

Honorable
May 10, 2012
Approximate Purchase Date: This or next week (flexible)

Budget Range: $700-$1000

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Web, Watching Videos

Parts Not Required: Keyboard/Mouse, Speakers

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Direct Canada

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: No

I am looking to build my first desktop PC (I have been using a laptop for the past 6 years), primarily for gaming purposes. I am extremely paranoid about getting something wrong while buying the parts so I would like to ask for some help. The following is my current build:

CPU: Intel Core I5 2500K Quad Core Unlocked Processor LGA1155 3.3GHZ Sandy Bridge 6MB

GPU: Gigabyte Radeon HD 6850 Windforce 820MHZ 1GB 4.2GHZ GDDR5 2xDVI HDMI Display Port PCI-E Video Card

Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX Z68 LGA1155 ATX 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 DDR3 SATA3 USB3.0 Audio Video CrossFire Motherboard

RAM: Kingston HyperX KHX1600C9D3K2/8GX 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 XMP Dual Channel Memory Kit

Power Supply: Corsair TX650 V2 650W ATX 12V Single Rail 53A 24PIN ATX Power Supply Active PFC 80PLUS Bronze

HDD: Western Digital WD Caviar Blue 1TB SATA 6GB/S 7200RPM 32MB Cache 3.5IN Hard Drive OEM

Disk Drive: ASUS DRW-24B1ST 24X SATA DVD Writer OEM Black

Cooler: HYPER 212 PLUS CPU COOLER FOR INTEL & AMD

Case: Antec Three Hundred Mini Tower Gaming Case 300 ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5INT No PS Front USB & Audio

Specific Questions/Concerns:
- The cooler says it supports Intel Socket LGA1156, but the CPU is socket type LGA-1155. Does this mean they are incompatible?
- I am the most ignorant when it comes to choosing the motherboard and power supply, so any specific suggestions there would be great!

Thank you so much, and sorry for the bother.

Specific answers to your concerns:

The cooler is compatible with both. Don't worry about that.