How much PSU do I need?

doko

Honorable
Aug 27, 2012
Hi, this is my first time building a computer and I'm not sure how much PSU I would need, heres the list of parts I'm considering.

Mother Board: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570
Memory: G.Skill Ares F3-1600C10D-16GAO 16GB
Graphics: Asus Geforce GTX 560
Fan: Cooler master Hyper 212
Case: Cooler master HAF RC-912a
HDD: WD Green 1TB
Dvd: Samsung Dvdrw

Thats around $875 AUD

I have used some PSU calculators and read the one of the forums regarding PSU, and got results ranging from 580W to 600W.

I was looking at the Antec EarthWatts 650W Green but I am not sure if this is too little or too much. Some guidance will be greatly appreciated! Thanks

The Antec Earthwatts 650W is more than sufficient for your planned build. A system with a single GTX560 requires a 450W PSU with two 75W 6-pin PCIe power connectors and 30A on the 12V rails.

Most 450W PSUs only have one 6-pin PCIe power connector so it would be asier to start looking at 500W PSUs. My signature has a recommended PSUs thread that is good as well as a PSU guide. The Antec Earthwatts 500W is sufficient for your build. If you have a website that we can take a look at and tell us your budget then we can make some recommendations.

HDD: WD Green 1TB

Don't use a green drive as your primary storage. Greens drives are slow, and are constantly spinning down to conserve energy. You'll be highly dissatisfied with the performance of the green drive. Buy a WD blue or black drive with at least a 32 MB cache.

doko

Honorable
Aug 27, 2012
Thanks for the quick replies guys! Um should I consider an SDD for my boot drive then? And get a WD blue/black drive as my secondary storage drive? Also Rugger you mentioned 500W is sufficient for my build but if I add a SDD to this build will it alter the needed PSU by much?

doko

Honorable
Aug 27, 2012