Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Low Profile Advice

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 7, 2012 6:00:23 PM

Hi Folks.

Been trying to figure this out for a while and my good friend google has just made it even more confusing. Im new to pc building and don't fully understand how to tell if a card is low profile or not. Is there an easy way to decipher what will and will not fit?

I currently have this case http://www.pcscience.com/product.php?pid=18728&PHPSESSI.... To my understanding I can only fit low profile graphics cards. Currently installed is a HD6670 http://www.vtx3d.com/products_features.asp?id=87. Is this a low profile card? Im looking to get rid of this card and upgrade. If I was to purchase a standard card would it fit in my case?

This is probably an incredibly noob question to ask, but I thought it best to come here to have to explained correctly.

Cheers for your time, folks. :) 

More about : low profile advice

March 7, 2012 6:50:47 PM

Case description says 4 full sized expansion slots. That means can fit regular sized cards, so no need to worry about low profile or not
m
l
March 7, 2012 7:28:58 PM

jrazor247 said:
Case description says 4 full sized expansion slots. That means can fit regular sized cards, so no need to worry about low profile or not

Thanks for the response. Is the size of the case the only thing that inhibits expansion slots? Does the motherboard affect my choice in size in any way? I have the Gigabyte GA-M68MT-S2. Its funny the custom build company that sold me the Pc told me it would only fit low profile cards, which is why I went for the HD6670. After taking out the card it seemed the same size as every other graphic card I have used previous. Think I will update it, not happy with 6670 at all.
m
l
Related resources
March 8, 2012 8:38:38 PM

No motherboard doesn't determine low profile or not, only the case
m
l
March 8, 2012 9:53:01 PM