Sign in with
Your question

Upgrade question/decision

Last response: in Systems
May 11, 2012 8:27:42 PM

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on Tom's Hardware so I just want to say hello! My question is more of a decision I'm making and I would appreciate some help. I have the choice of upgrading my current laptop that I use primarily for school (currently in college) or upgrading my PC that I built in December 2010. I use my laptop for word processing, web browsing, emails and some programming and I use my desktop for multimedia and gaming. I was thinking of upgrading the PC recently rather than getting a new laptop since it would probably be a little cheaper. Instead of upgrading the laptop I was thinking of using my computer for school/play than using my laptop for just portability walking around the campuses from class to class and in the library. My laptop is a bit heavy its about 7 lbs. I was looking to spend 600 U.S. dollars for the new laptop. I will post the specs for both machines below. Thank you for the help everyone!

Laptop (Toshiba):
CPU: Intel Core 2 duo t6600
ram: 4gb ddr2
hard drive: 500gb (5400 rpm)
video card: integrated graphics
link to laptop: http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/toshiba-satellite-a505-...

Desktop
CPU: Phenom 2 x4 945
ram: 8gb 1600 gskill ripjaws ddr3
motherboard: Asus m4a88td-evo v/3.0usb (LAN port recently broke sent back to ASUS for repairs) <--- big reason why I am thinking of upgrading
power supply: 700w Thermaltake Toughpower
video card: Powercolor PCS+ radeon hd 5830
hard drive: 500gb western digital caviar blue
a b B Homebuilt system
May 13, 2012 10:49:31 AM