Sign in with
Your question

$900-$1100 gaming pc, few questions

Last response: in Systems
May 12, 2012 12:02:15 AM

Hello all!

New to these forums, thanks in advance for all responses!

This is my first build in about ten years, so I have a rough idea of what I am doing, though its been a good while. I'm posting the parts I have picked out thus far. The machine is going to be used for gaming and school (gaming). I have a few specific questions , but also would welcome any feed back in general.

This is my build thus far in NewEgg

1. Power supply - I picked a sli ready board because I want the option down the road of adding another card (I'm going to be setting up Nvidia 3d vison 2 on this system), also I intend to over clock the 2500k for all shes worth. From what I have read the power supply I have picked is potentially not enough for all I am going to be throwing at it. However when I put the system in as overclocked and with a sli 560ti already in place on http://extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine it told me I only needed 495 watts. If thats the case I would rather drop 1-2 hundred watts and get a modular for around the same price. Thoughts?

2. I have selected the HAF-922 case and the Hyper 212 plus cpu cooler. This cooler is obviously quite tall, does anyone know if I will have room to mount a side bay fan? Doubt I need it anyway, the case comes with a lot of wind anyway, and I already added a 120 to double up oln the Hyper 212 plus.

3. With such an open case I am concernced about how quickly dust will accumulate, does anyone know of a safe material or prduct I could use as filter? I know it would cut down on the purpose of the HAF model, but man thats a lot of holes.