My First Build, Gone Wrong

RisingKaimer

Honorable
May 2, 2012
As the title says this is my first build, primary uses are gaming and photo/video editing.

Issue :cry:
Currently Playing Arma 2,Crysis, Crysis warhead,L4D2, Dead Island on steam.
Across all these titles I have one common problem...sometimes I can play for hours on end, most of the time however my computer will lockup in the middle of playing sometimes after minutes or seconds of starting the game...a black screen with no input..sound will sometimes continue and sometimes it gives loud buzzing (from speakers not mobo) I can run unigine with no problems what so ever with everything cranked up though. So I don't know if this rules out the video cards...any help is sincerely appreciated :ange:

The Hardware :love:

Motherboard: Asus crosshair V formula
Processor: AMD FX-8150
RAM: Corsair Vengence 16GB 2x8GB sticks
Video Cards:Diamond Multimedia 7970 3GB Tri-Fire
Power Supply: Corsair AX1200 watt
HDD:Seagate 500GB 7200RPM
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Case:Cooler Master Haf 932 Ultimate

Misc:
Razer Mamba Mouse
Razer Black Widow Ultimate
Asus 24-inch 120hz 3D monitor
Belkin N USB wireless adapter
Windows 7 Home Premium x64 SP1

All drivers are up to date as far as I know. Got the newest ones from Asus mobo support site, and installed with a fresh install of windows 7.

Running 12.4 Catalyst on radeon cards

BIOS are up to date

If any other info is needed I will be more than happy to give it! :D
Really appreciate any input!

Update:while originally posting this I got a BSOD saying something about display driver timeout...I'm so confused.

jasont78

Distinguished
Feb 25, 2009