Solved

Build idea - need advice

Tags:
  • Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
May 13, 2012 2:52:14 AM

Hey all,

This is my first time building. Done a LOT of reading on these forums, etc., but I really still need some advice. I'll use this build for picture management (amateur photography) and gaming (mainly Starcraft 2 and the future expansions on that series). Here's what I think I'd like . . .
i5-2500k processor
Asrock z77 Extreme 6
AMD 6870

Ok, so now my specific questions . . .
1. With this, do I need or should I even consider a water cooled system? Say, the Corsair h80or h100?
2. I am thinking of overclocking . . . can I do so with these components?
3. What would be a good case?
4. I have NO idea how to choose a PSU. Advice?

Yes, I am on a budget, ideally somewhere in the 700-1000 range. Please, any advice is appreciated. And if I'm overlooking some crucial thing that I've missed, please let me know!

More about : build idea advice

May 13, 2012 3:04:09 AM

1. not really unless you plan to overclock the cpu and gpu a good amount
2.yes you can, the 2500k is a very good overlcoker
3. i often go to newegg's psu section and on teh bottom left there is a wattage calculator, put in your parts, it gives you an approx. wattage usage, get about 50-100 watts above it, and get brands like antec, corsair, ocz, and many people like rosewill or thermaltake, (with rosewill it really depends on what model, some are great some are garbage.)
m
l
May 13, 2012 3:09:40 AM

So as long as I can pay attention and get a good case with appropriate airflow, I won't need the extra water cooling. Sweet. And thanks for the PSU advice . . .
m
l
Related resources

Best solution

May 13, 2012 3:24:51 AM

1. Are you going to overclock your CPU? If not, then you're good to go with the stock cooler that comes with it. You only water cool a system when you overclock stuff to the extreme.