Sign in with
Your question

Budget Gaming Build: Your thoughts, please!

Last response: in Systems
May 13, 2012 5:38:49 PM

I finally got fed up with my 6 year old custom build's inability to play anything released past 2009, so I'm now in the process of putting together a new machine. Modern gaming is once more within my reach! :D 

This build will be used primarily for gaming, but I also do some light image editing (nothing my old system couldn't handle, albeit slowly) as well as standard casual computing tasks (internet, home theater, etc.).

I'm not terribly experienced with the world of computer construction, but after reading a number of articles here and elsewhere, I think I've put together a build which should satisfy my gaming needs (Mostly strategy and RPGs. Needs to run Skyrim and Mass Effect 3 flawlessly at 1920x1080) and last for a few good years. I am a complete novice when it comes to overclocking, but I'd like the ability to do so, particularly down the road once the system's aged a bit and needs a little more punch.

Your thoughts or ideas for improvement are most appreciated!

N.B. I'm trying to keep the price of this build as close to $1000 as possible, but would be willing to go as high as $1200 if significant improvements could be had within that range.

CPU:
-Intel i5-3570

MoBo:
-ASRock Z77 Extreme4-M (I'd like to maintain the micro-ATX form factor if possible)

GPU:
-Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 OC (The plan here is to buy one now with the ability to add another in Crossfire in a year or two. I believe this card will have no problem fitting in the case I've chosen - see below.)

MEMORY:
-G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB)

HDD:
-SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB (plus my old SATA HDD from the previous build, perhaps as an external if internal space is tight)

SSD (Boot disk):
-Crucial M4 CT064M4SSD2 2.5" 64GB SATA III MLC

PSU: